Skip to main content

Budget Committee

page banner image

The Budget Committee is one of the three governing bodies of the UPC next to the Administrative Committee and the Advisory Committee.

The main tasks of the Budget Committee are in particular, 

  • to adopt the budget of the Court as proposed by the Presidium;
  • to approve the annual accounts and the annual report of the Court as submitted by the Presidium.

The Budget Committee comprises representatives from each state in which the Agreement on a Unified Patent Court (UPCA) is in force as well as observers. It is also possible for the Budget Committee to invite experts to its meetings.

A list of all the representatives can be found below.

Each state that is a member of the Committee has one vote. The Budget Committee adopts its decisions by a simple majority. However, a majority of three-quarters is needed for the adoption of the budget.

The Budget Committee elects a chairperson from amongst the members for a renewable term of three years. The Chairperson of the Budget Committee is currently Mr Bruno Leboullenger (FR), and the Deputy Chaiperson is Theis Bødker Jensen (DK).

The Budget Committee has its own Rules of Procedure.


Mr Bruno Leboullenger (FR)
Deputy Chairperson:
Mr Theis Bødker Jensen (DK)
  • AT: Austria
    Mr Andrea Scheichl
    Alternate member:
    Mr Gerard Pilz
  • BE: Belgium
    Mr Denis Mailleux
  • BG: Bulgaria
    Ms Vladia Borissova
    Alternate member:
    Ms Iveta Istiliyanova
  • DK: Denmark
    Mr Theis Bødker Jensen
    Alternate member:
    Mr Flemming Kønig Mejl
  • EE: Estonia
    Ms Aasa Süld
  • FI: Finland
  • FR: France
    Mr Max Brunner
  • DE: Germany
    Mr Christian Wichard
    Alternate member:
    Mr Johannes Karcher
  • IT: Italy
    Mr Raffaele Farella
    Alternate member:
    Mr Vincenzo Rosa
  • LU: Luxembourg
    Mr Jean Olinger
    Alternate member:
    Mr Nicola Schreiner
  • NL: Netherlands
    Mr Thijs van den Heuvel
    Alternate member:
    Mr Paul van Beukering
  • SI: Slovenia
    Ms Jana Lovšin
    Alternate member:
    Ms Tina Teržan
  • SE: Sweden
    Ms Sofia Säterskog
    Alternate member
    Mr Peter Bringle
  • Czech Republic (CZ)
  • Hungary (HU)
  • Ireland (IE)
  • Latvia (LV)
  • Lithuania (LT)
  • Poland (PL)
  • Portugal (PT)
  • Romania (RO)
  • Slovakia (SK)
  • Spain (ES)

Unified Patent Court:

President of the Court of Appeal and President of the Court of First Instance, assisted by other members of the Presidium and by officials and staff of the Unified Patent Court.

Chairperson of the Administrative Committee: Mr Johannes Karcher (DE)

Chairperson of the Advisory Committee: Mr Willem Hoyng

  • European Commission;
  • European Patent Office – also acting as experts in the Budget Committee ;